What We Do

We Make Parks Better.

The San Antonio Parks Foundation is a 501 (c)(3) organization whose mission is to provide enhancements to the parks of the City of San Antonio and the County of Bexar which improve the quality of life for all of our citizens.

Organized in 1981, the Foundation works closely with the City of San Antonio’s Departments of Parks and Recreation and Downtown Operations in addition to the County of Bexar. Funding for parks projects is provided from foundation and corporate grants and individual gifts. The proceeds from five large events: Fest of Tails, Chaparral Music Festival (an official Fiesta event), San Antonio’s Official 4th of July Celebration at Woodlawn Lake Park, Jazz’SAlive in Travis Park and Celebrate San Antonio (San Antonio’s Official New Year’s Eve Celebration downtown) assist the Foundation in maintaining the operating budget.

In addition to providing monetary support for park projects, the San Antonio Parks Foundation also acquires land for dedicated park space and natural areas through the donation of land or purchase.

Our Staff

Mary Jane Verette

President and CEO

Adam Fleming

Director of Marketing & Outreach

Kasandra Martinez

Event Coordinator

Guadalupe Mata


2018 Board Officers

Board Chair

JoAnn Boone

Chair-Elect and 2018 Jazz’SALive Chair

Doug McMurry

Immediate Past-Chair

April Ancira


Sylvia Rodriguez


Daniel S. Koehl, CPA

Membership Chair

Laura Powell

Fest of Tails Committee Chair

Kelley Farwell

Board of Directors

Leroy Alloway

David Kinder

Kelly Farwell

Clyde Johnson IV

Mary Rose Brown

Bonnie Conner

Mariela Flores Lopez

Marcie Ince

Ray Knox

Dr. Sylvia Reyna

Denise Salzman, CPA

Ken Kuwamura Jr.

Avery Lawton Gard

Jane Macon

Sue Millican, CPA

Janet Martin

Laura Powell

Gavino Ramos, SAWS

Sam Bell Steves II

Ed L. White, Jr.

Joe Santamaria

Cristina Bazaldua

Advisory Board

Evangelina Flores

Tom Frost, III

Rosemary Kawalski

John L. Nau, III